Tata Steel 2016

Tata Steel is one of the strongest tournaments of the year played early January in the Netherlands. This year the field of 14 players consists of 9 out of the top 20 players in the world, including the world champion Magnus Carlsen. Other players include Fabiano Caruana, Anish Giri, Ding Liren, Wesley So, Sergey Karjakin, Pavel Eljanov, Shakhriyar Mamedyarov, Evgeny Tomashevsky, Michael Adams, David Navara, Wei Yi, Yifan Hou and Loek Van Wely.

Magnus Carlsen won the event last year and looks to continue his dominance on the chess board. The other players are looking to prove themselves in what should be an incredible year of chess, ending with the World Championships in November.

As always we will have coverage from each round of the tournament so check back here for analysis.